Monday, September 26, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1545























Artist Unknown

Concerned Supporter Subtly Offering Sniffling Trump a Hanky, ca. 1600

Oil on canvas

Sunday, September 25, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1544























Léon Frédéric, Belgian

Girls Watching Debate Between That Sick Lady and the Orange Man, 1888

Oil on canvas

Thursday, September 22, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1543























Émile Bernard, French

"It's Your Call: Lie There and Cry Like a Spoiled Baby, Or Go Get Your Own F***ing Towel," 1887

Oil on canvas

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1542














Fredrik Carl Erik Torner, Swedish

Woman Calmly Watching Boyfriend Get Attacked by Bear, 1886

Oil on canvas

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1541























Platt Powell Ryder, American

Abraham Lincoln After Botox, 1888

Oil on canvas

Monday, September 19, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1540











Otto Brausewetter, German

"Not to Interrupt, But Can You Guys Believe the Natural Light They Get in Here?," 1888

Oil on canvas

Sunday, September 18, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1539























William Merritt Chase, American

Lauren, the Pathologically Shy Nude Model, 1888

Oil on canvas

Thursday, September 15, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1538










John Charles Maggs, British

"The Fast and the Furious 8: The Early Years," 1887

Oil on canvas

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1537























Jean-Léon Gérome, French

"Plus, If You Buy Today, It's Zero Down With No Interest Until the Fall of the Ottoman Empire," 1887

Oil on canvas

MASTERPIECE #1536










Henry F. Farny, American

"Hey, If We're Going to Do This, You Mind Flipping Me Over in 20 Minutes?  I Want to Make Sure I Tan Evenly," 1885

Gouache and watercolor

Monday, September 12, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1535













Jens Erik Carl Rasmussen, Danish

When You Realize You're Out of Diapers and the Nearest Target is 4000 Miles Away, 1886

Watercolor

Sunday, September 11, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1534













Lawrence Alma-Tadema, Dutch-British

"So Then I Say to Caesar, 'Oh Yeah? You and Whose Army?' Which in Retrospect, Was Probably a Mistake," 1866

Oil on wood

Thursday, September 8, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1533























Ilona Barabas, Hungarian

The Virgin Mary Getting Carded at Nazareth Liquors, 1886

Oil on canvas

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1532























Peter Nicolai Arbo, Norwegian

Killing Time During Jury Deliberations at the Salem Witch Trials, 1886

Oil on cardboard

Tuesday, September 6, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1531























Alfred Wierusz-Kowalski, Polish

"Great Moments in Phallic Portraiture (Page 105)," 1885

Oil on panel